SOL Y2, D5: Nieces

Today I had the joy of spending a few hours with two of my nieces.

For Christmas I’d given them each a collage I made from when they were flower girls in my wedding.

collage

When my oldest niece, who is very artistic, discovered I had made the pictures myself she immediately wanted to make her own. Well, it took a few months, but today was the day to teach them the steps.

Here they are in action…

It was fun to spend an afternoon with them…creating, chatting, and having fun. But mostly, I just loved getting to know each of them a little better. I feel like I know them well, but I’m always amazed by what else I see when I have a chance to just be there with them.

Annika, a little bit more serious. Precocious. Artistic. Sweet. Kind. Quiet. Self-assured. A child that all animals want to be near because she loves them each with all of her heart. Still and patient, often lost in her own dream world.

Natalie, a little bit more spunky. Fierce. Feisty. Goofy. Perfectionist. Athlete. Her body always in motion. Flipping over chairs, climbing door jambs, spending more time upside down than right side up. A girl with a laugh that bubbles up straight from her belly and lights up the room.

This afternoon was just perfect.

 

 

6 thoughts on “SOL Y2, D5: Nieces

  1. What a nice way to spend an afternoon. With people you love being creative. I love what you made. So beautiful and such a special gift. Congratulations on your wedding.
    xo
    Pamela

    Like

  2. Sounds like a fabulous way to spend the weekend! I love the structure you use to describe each of your nieces at the end, the phrases and single adjective sentences. Using the same formate to describe them both, but having such different descriptions helps portray how even though they are both unique, you love them the same.

    Like

  3. This is the true gift you have given them. The gift of your time together and a special memory planted in their young lives. How lucky they are to have you for an aunt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

