SOL Y2, D2: Trading Places

My parents are getting older.  This shouldn’t come as a surprise, but somehow it has totally rocked my world.  It’s as if I woke up one morning and suddenly things were different. It didn’t feel gradual. I didn’t see it coming. And to be honest, I don’t want to believe it.

But recently I’ve been forced to acknowledge and accept this reality. I’ve been thrust into the role of care taker, taking over a job that has so long belonged to them.

And so far it’s a minor role reversal, and for that I am thankful. I just spent the weekend taking care of my mom post-surgery and the most challenging part was keeping her from doing all the things she’s used to doing. She’s a woman who place tennis several days a week. She goes to exercise class M-W-F. She walks the dog at least twice a day. She cleans a big old house top to bottom.  But she can’t do any of that right now.

While it’s hard to accept that she’s getting a little older, I am thankful that I live close enough to help. It will be an adjustment over the next years (and I believe there will be many) as we trade places. But in trading places I believe our relationship will only grow stronger and how great is that?!

One thought on “SOL Y2, D2: Trading Places

  1. Isn’t this the truth!? It’s so weird to think of my parents getting older. Weird and scary. I’m impressed you are able to write your thoughts about it down. I haven’t even begun to process all of it yet. Thanks for inspiring me though since I definitely want to. I really like the way you taught us about your mom while talking about her recovery by saying what she can’t currently do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

