SOL Day 11 – Everyone Needs an Uncle Jim

“Everyone needs an Uncle Jim!” they said in college when my Uncle Jim flew down to do a 20 mile training run with me in preparation for our marathon.

“Everyone needs an Uncle Jim!” they said when he let me move in with him when I got my first teaching job. I only lived there for 2 months, but it was great. Everyone should have coffee made for them in the morning and dinner ready when they get home during their first 2 months of teaching.

“Everyone needs an Uncle Jim!” they said when we celebrated our “90th” birthday – he turned 60, I turned 30 – with a party for the record books…signature cocktails for each of us, tons of delicious food, and a house filled with friends.

“Everyone needs an Uncle Jim!” they said when he and his sister threw me an engagement party…again signature cocktails, tons of delicious food, and a house filled with friends.

But it’s not just the grand gestures that make Uncle Jim the best. It’s the little things too…waiting for a repairman at my house while I was at work, dropping off homemade jam, taking my dog for walks when days got too long…just to name a few.

And tonight, cooking dinner and sharing laughs, I thought, “Everyone needs an Uncle Jim!”

4 thoughts on “SOL Day 11 – Everyone Needs an Uncle Jim

  1. Oh, what a sweet, sweet slice of life you shared. I was worried Uncle Jim was going the way of Dodger! Happy to hear you’re sharing a meal and good laughs. We all need an Uncle Jim in our life.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I loved reading about your relationship with your Uncle Jim through your examples of ways in which we all need someone like him in our lives. I’m sure most readers will stop and think abt who their “Uncle Jim” is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

